It’s All About The Matson’s Gen.9 Aaron: Ch.2 – Hellfire’s Spark

It’s been awfully long since a new chapter has been published and sadly this update isn’t too long. Still, I hope you all enjoy it and can at least tolerate my poor attempt at drawing with a mouse. -Insert face blushing-
Here’s goes! Oh, I haven’t done this in a long while so here it is.. I now belatedly present to you..

Photobucket

Photobucket

Several months lapsed since the ‘incident’ of Dempsy City. Most of its population had relocated to neighboring towns, my own relocation to Zyric, the quiet town full of ancient history. We’d moved into a brownstone home in an area where most refugees where inhabiting. My family still kept enough funds to purchase the entire building and allow Pan and Matt’s families to stay with us.

Within the first month, news had circulated around the globe of the ‘incident’. Soon it was given the title of ‘Hellfire’ due to its sinister nature. Hours after evacuation, the light had ceased, and all that remained was a miasma of black liquid. Reporters who dared to come within several meters of it soon paid the consequences. Shapes emerged from the miasma in hordes. They attacked anything that moved, more specifically, reporters who attempted to film them.

They were creatures that one would see in nightmares. Demonologists had gained recognition from Hellfire due to their extensive research on these creatures. They matched the shapes of the figures to creatures in ancients drawings and sacred texts. Though some information conflicted with others’ research, only leading them to dead-ends. Experts on religion, doomsday, and mythology had all joined in the debate, in their attempts to persuade the government towards a method of offense.

Photobucket

All they can do for now is to remain on the defensive by encircling the miasma with troops who fire upon seeing the creatures approaching. Some retreat from the gunfire, while the stronger ones evade past the firing lines and escape into the wilderness. Tall iron walls, lines with barbed wire had been erected around the neighboring towns as a temporary defense.

I’d walked along the outskirts of Zyric with Pan and Matt several times before, examining the woods or lake nearby our new home. Matt and I would climb the treetops while Pan would pick flowers nearby to pass the time. Life had become simple for us now that we no longer had our former wealth. We made due with what he had, and accustomed to Zyric quickly. Though one thought plagued me throughout most of the summer; where was Rain.

Photobucket

Is was an inferno during mid-July, and everyone was complaining of the heat inside the building. Emma lounged in the living room in her bright green tank top, lying down on the couch adjacent to where Matt and I sat. Matt remained quiet as he sat still in an attempt to cool off. I remained focus on other thoughts, though noticed as Matt made a gesture towards Emma which caused her to groan in annoyance. I stood up from my seat, walking towards the door to the back and walking across the small scaled backyard. I jumped over the fence separating the property from the fields nearby and began to walk in the direction of the woods.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Halfway there I’d taken off my shirt due to the immense amount of heat that dropped onto Zyric today, stuffing it into my backpocket as I continued to walk until I sensed the crunching sensation of fallen pine leaves under the soles of my feet, and the cool air that surrounded that inside of the forest. I quickly scaled a nearby tree and looked at the expansive forest from the highest point. I leapt onto a branch and did so constantly for the next several minutes until I reached the location of the lake.

I swung down from the tree, sap and bits of bark covering my hands in the process. I walked to the waters edge, kicking off my shoes in the direction of the tree I’d landed from. I looked at the reflection in the crystal clear water that shimmered from the light rays that bounced off its surface. Slowly I walked into it, feeling the water envelope my body as I entered it.

Photobucket

I swam towards the center once I was waist deep, and dove in, examining its contents with my eyes opened underwater. Several variations of fish swam by, made of different colors and shapes. Plantlife covered the lakebed and large boulders, creating an underwater meadow. After three minutes of holding my breath I resurfaced and made my way back to the grassy surface of the forest.

Photobucket

I sat on the grass quietly, keeping to my thoughts as I slowly dried off. Everything about the forest was quiet, bordering between gentle silence and a foreboding mute. The quiet was broken by the faint scurrying of legs against the grass. I stood up and looked towards the location where the sound had been produced.

Photobucket

No sooner had I looked, than a dark figure appeared from behind the trees, rapidly approaching in my direction. I dodged its path and jumped back several feet from my original position. I examined the figure as it rotated itself, seeming only to be able to go in a straight line as it moves. Four scythe-shaped legs protruded from its round body. All of it, pitch black, and no sign of a mouth or an eye to aim for.

After analyzing it, I dodged its attacks for a few minutes, and managed to stay away from it because of its nature to attack in a straight line. Noting its refusal to make any contact with water. After another dodge, I quickly scooped a handful of water and waited until it came closer and dodged at the last second, not before launching the handful of water towards it. The creature produced a noise that could be compared as a cross between a howl and shriek. I watched as bits of itself fell off from where the water made contact. The bits that fell began to move as soon as they landed, inching towards the legs where they were absorbed. Within a minute the creature had regenerated the damaged part of itself.

I clenched my hands into fists, knowing that I couldn’t keep this up forever, and a retreat would only tempt the scythe-demon to pursue, leading it back to the town.

Photobucket

Just as I was contemplating my next move, a slight warmth filled the air as a purple flame appeared from the forest and aimed itself at the scythe-demon, setting it ablaze. The creature emitted the same noise from earlier before collapsing onto the ground as the purple flames consumed it until there was nothing left except for ashes. A voice called out in the distance, one familiar and sounding worried. I quickly turned around and saw her long hair tangling behind her as she ran in my direction.

Rain.

We interrupt your usual broadcasting for this special Matson Memory

Devious Fun

Photobucket

“Well don’t you look dapper! Come in, come in Cole!”
“Thanks Laurie..”

I walk inside the home of the relative of mine who’s.. sadly, the closest person to me. I’d convinced my parents to let me stay here a few days so long as I attended church with them before they dropped me off. Whatever it took to get them off my back, and vice versa.

Photobucket

“Hayley’s been so excited to spend time with you! She’s recently grown too! See-” Laurie pulls out her collection of photos; one with her & Felix snorkling at a nearby lake, one of Brad with some girl, and one of Hayley with braces. I regret not having talked to her for almost a year now, though no one had told me that keeping up grades in high school was easy. Because apparently, it’s not. At least not in DCH.

“So is she still wearing braces?” I ask. Laurie laughs a bit and replies; “Oh no, she’s gotten them off by now. She has such a beautiful smile. I fear for her safety when she’ll enter high school next year. I just know those boys will be pining for her.” I nod and smile at the annoyed little girl behind her.

Photobucket

“GRANDMA!” Laurie turns around surprised and with a meek smile on her face. “Sorry Hayley, but you look so adorable in that picture. Oh! And here is Cole, how handsome he’s grown. Now I’ll be upstairs if needed. Have fun you two!” With that, she scurries upstairs this leaving us alone. I take a minute to look over Hayley. She really did grow up well..

Photobucket

“Look at you, short stuff. You’ve really grown in the past year.” Hayley squinted her eyes. “I’m not short.” I smirk at her just to annoy her. “By my definition, you’re short. I was taller than you at your age.” She pouts in response, defiant to any claims involving her height. “You’re too tall.” I rub her hair.

“Hey, quit it!”
“No, I don’t think I will.”

“Jerkface.”
“Short stuff.”

“Church clothing wearer-er..”
“Really? That’s the best you’ve got?”

Photobucket

Hayley hunches her shoulders before jumping up to hug me. “Whatever, I missed you soooo much! You should’ve called or something.” I hug her back and give her my short explanation which she dubs as a lame excuse. “I need to change my clothes, I’ll be right back.” Hayley swings her arms and shakes her head. “Nah, meet me at the little pond. It’s cute at night.”

Photobucket

Photobucket

“There you are” I say as I sit down next to her. Hayley quickly turns to face me. “Cole!-”

Photobucket

“What.. do I have a fly on my face?” She shakes her head. “Nooo.. you look..” I sigh. I guess I should’ve expected this. She’s seen me in the new type of clothing I like to wear and it probably irks her. “Dark, odd, emo-”

Photobucket

She inches closer and shakes her head again. “No! You look cool!” I look at her slightly bewildered though take the compliment.

“Your hat kind of makes you seem less emo though. It’s neat.”
“This thing? Yeah.. my father ‘passed’ it onto me. I only wear it when the bloke’s around though.”

“I see, I see. Well, he’s not around now. Take it off.”

I stand up and take off my hat. Folding it and stuffing it in my back pocket while using an available hand to style up my hair the way I like it.

Photobucket

“It. Looks. AWESOME!” I can’t help but laugh at Hayley’s enthusiasm. At least the kid in her is still there.

“So what are we going to do tomorrow?”
“Dunno.”

“We can visit my friend Owen!”
“..Okay.”

Photobucket

I’d told Hayley I would tag along when we visited her friend though as far as pranks were concerned, I was egging his house. Hayley, meanwhile, stared on in shock as yolk plastered her friends front door. I ducked into the bushes and urged Hayley to join me. The look on her geeky looking friend’s face was worth it.

Photobucket

The next day we went for Hayley’s relatives who lived in the outer rim of town. Once more, Hayley watched from the sidelines as I lit a paperbag full of the most rancid smelling material I could find.

Photobucket

A well-dressed woman came out and began to yell; “TYLER! Something’s on fire!” She grew impatient when he didn’t show up right away so she began to stomp out the flames herself, stopping once her heels tore open the paperbag.

Photobucket

“What was on fire Jess?.. Jess?.. You alright?..”
“Tyler.. I need a new pair of shoes. NOW!”

“Again?”
“I SAID NOW!”

Photobucket

I laughed to myself as Hayley began to walk away. I caught up to her and promised I would stop if she could pull one off, herself. Begrudgingly she agreed.

Photobucket

“How am I doing?”
“For one; you shouldn’t be speaking so loudly.”

Photobucket

I saw her cackle to herself as she rang the doorball and made a run for it. I could tell she was scared out of her wits by the look on her face.

Photobucket

Probably too scared to think considering she chose to hide in their backyard.
Not one to pass up a chance at an egg throw, I fished one out of my pocket and aimed it at the door. The next moment, a lady came outside and yelled at me for ‘such a crime’.

Photobucket

Photobucket

“Ma’am, if there is anyone or anything to blame for my behaviour it would be society. Its constant pressure to be someone has rained on my spirits and led me to a life of crime.

Photobucket

“Surely you understand, right?” She only continued to glare as she fished her cellphone out.

Photobucket

“Not buying it, huh? So long then!” I quickly jumped over the railing and made a run to the trees across the house. Certain that I was safe from view I looked back and saw the woman storm back inside. I took this as an opportunity to run back to Hayley before she got caught.

Photobucket

“This was such a baaaad idea.”
“Hayley-”

Photobucket

“AAH!”
“Whoa.. hold your voice down. Don’t want to get caught, do you?”

“Oh, sorry.”

Photobucket

“Can we go home now?” I nodded. I’d spent enough time traumatizing Hayley for one lifetime. On the way back home she nagged me over my choice in fun. “You’re gonna make some girl really happy someday. I just know it” she says sarcastically. “Of course. This is me we’re talking about” I reply back causing her to smile.

New plan: No more pranks while I’m here. Besides, I’m certain someone’s going to tie together the shortage of eggs and recent egging of houses sooner or later.

IAATM Bonus Moments

Photobucket

“Check it Em, I got you a gift.”
“Hmm..”

Photobucket

“What is it.”
“Something I-“

Photobucket

“Take it.”
“Wha..”

Photobucket

“You didn’t even open it.”
“Don’t care.”

“Forget it..”

Photobucket

“This will teach him..”

Photobucket

“What the-“

Photobucket

“Did you just cut the cheddar?”
“Huh?- No, I didn’t..”

“Whatever you saaaaaay.”

Photobucket

“Emma. I think it’s time to stop the car when your father is honking at you.”
“Don’t worry Grampa, he’s just-“

“There’s another honk.”
“Ugh, fine.”

Photobucket

“So I know you like the color gold-”
“Mhm! The word, the color, the puns for it. I love me some Goulding too.”

“Right.. well..”

Photobucket

“Yellow is close enough, right?”
“Ooooh! Flowers!”

Photobucket

“Now Petunia will have some new friends!”
“..Um, alright.”

Photobucket

“Thanks Matty boy. I love me some roses.”
“No prob.”

Photobucket

“Heads up Uncle Cole!”
“Wh- OOF!”

Photobucket

“Hahaaaa! That was priceless!”
“Oh.. you’ve asked for it.”

Photobucket

“-Oof!”

Photobucket

“-Oof!”

There was much fighting of the pillow variety that day.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

And of course the couple that never seems to age got a new look for the rest of their youth. Or until Hayley decides to shop for clothing again.

So yes, Cole had a phase during his younger years. Not that he would ever admit he did now.
Hope you enjoyed this update and comment if you’d like. I’d love to know what you thought!
Until Next Time Everyone!

About ay2cee

Not only do I write, It's All About The Matson's, which you can read at http://ay2cee.livejournal.com/ I also write about the heirs lives through their perspective, though I only write the stories of heirs who have already passed away
This entry was posted in Gen 9 - Aaron's Legend, Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s All About The Matson’s Gen.9 Aaron: Ch.2 – Hellfire’s Spark

  1. awh at the end c: i love me some pan c:
    hehe Aaron’s gen will/would make a great book! ^vv^

  2. xtremesims says:

    This is great. Can’t wait for the next chapter.

  3. seaweedy says:

    I am absolutely fascinated by what Aaron is experiencing and I think your drawings were very evocative.

Leave a Reply

